My Kind of Bishop

Having avoided the obvious gag in the headline, I would like to record how impressed I am by the Anglican Bishop of Willesden (wherever the hell that is), Pete Broadbent, who took great delight in having a go at all the hype about the announcement that some sinecure having RAF officer is to marry some wee girl who he partly wooed by going for a joyride in public property to her house, namely a Chinook. Try going up to Aldegrove to get a Chinook to impress your girlfriend and see how far that gets you.

Anyway, the Bishop outed himself as a republican on his facebook page, which I can’t find.

He wrote: “Need to work out what date in the spring or summer I should be booking my republican day trip to France.”
He went on to say: “I think we need a party in Calais for all good republicans who can’t stand the nauseating tosh that surrounds this event.

“I managed to avoid the last disaster in slow motion between Big Ears and the Porcelain Doll, and hope to avoid this one too.”
He said the wedding should belong to the family, as opposed to becoming “national flim-flam” paid for by tax payers. And he criticised the media for descending into “fawning deferential nonsense”.

I hope he remembers to invite the rest of us to his party. Sounds perfect.

As for the media reaction and his apology, entirely predictable. But fair play to him in the first place.

4 Responses to “My Kind of Bishop”

  1. LeftAtTheCross Says:

    Willesden is a fairly Irish area of north London. Perhaps there’s republicanism added to the water supply by the local borough.

    Joe Strummer wrote a chilled out song “Willesden to Cricklewood”

  2. Garibaldy Says:

    Cheers for that LATC. Strummer song too chilled out for me. Took too long!

    I see from Channel 4 news that the Bishop has been suspended from public ministry. Outrageous.

  3. Liam Says:

    I liked the unapologetic apology and plumped for the obvious joke.

  4. Garibaldy Says:

    As I’ve just said over at your place Liam, I chickened out of going for don’t bash the bishop. I am pleased to see not everyone is so lily-livered. I presume this bishop believes in god, unlike most anglican bishops it seems. Probably the real problem here.

Leave a Reply

