Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité

louis16-execution

10 Responses to “Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité”

  1. Craig Says:

    … et un peu de Madame Guillotine, n’est-ce pas?

  2. NCM Says:

    Let them eat cake?

  3. Graycrow Says:

    I was busy organizing a big bastille day celebration in my home town. The plan was to get a mob together and guillotine a load fat cat bankers while eating frog cakes and drinking Beaujolais wine.

    Sadly, the event turned out to be a damp squib as the mob were too busy watching America’s Got Talent to join in the celebrations.

    I had to settle for getting drunk and putting a french soccer jersey on a statue in the middle of the town.

    Vive la France, vive la Revolution!!

  4. Craig Says:

    “I had to settle for getting drunk and putting a french soccer jersey on a statue in the middle of the town.”

    Plus ca change.

  5. Garibaldy Says:

    Craig,

    The thought of Madame Guillotine working at full speed dispatching the enemies of liberty, equality and fraternity brings a smile to my face, as I’m sure it does yours.

    NCM,

    Cake would certainly make the Revolution more fun.

    Graycrow,

    Fair play to you for your efforts. I’m very impressed. Shame about the opium of the people distracting them from the much more important business at hand. I’m sure the statue was much improved.

  6. Craig Says:

    “The thought of Madame Guillotine working at full speed dispatching the enemies of liberty, equality and fraternity brings a smile to my face, as I’m sure it does yours.”

    Mais bien sur, mon capitaine! The thought of the industrial slaughter of aristocrats, émigrés and other purported enemies of a violently fanatical regime makes me grin like the proverbial Chesire Cat.

  7. Garibaldy Says:

    I don’t think it was a violently fanatical regime. Though we can be certain that its enemies in the Vendee were both. Obviously it was a very nasty time. The right side won though.

  8. Urban_Underclass Says:

    Garibaldy,

    Ha, ha, I was reading your republicanism-political-philosophy-or-perverted-theology post as requested and went looking for this, I found this blog for the first time just after Bastille day last year. You seemed to be the only other blog that celebrated it (I used to use the nickname Graycrow then),

    I really did put an FFR jersey on the Pikeman statue in Wexford Town last Bastille Day. The local bar stool republicans missed the subtlety of it and told me I’d want to be careful.

    After what Theirry Henri did to us, it will take a bit more neck to repeat the procedure next year (especially since I quit drinking).

    That’s my kind of simplistic definition of republicanism, a French Football Jersey on an Irish Pikeman.

    Rory

  9. Garibaldy Says:

    Sounds like a decent definition to me Rory. Simple and effective.

  10. Lighting Optoelectronics Forum · Says:

    bar stools that are made from stainless steel are the best because they don’t tarnish often ;*~

Leave a Reply

